Total Pageviews

Monday, June 17, 2019

Buoni Amici Press Presents: 10-Code by Freya Barker; #ReleaseBlitz, #NowAvailable, #OutNow, #TBR, #Live, #Review, #Giveaway

Title: 10- Code (Rock Point #4) 
Author: Freya Barker 
Genre: Romantic Suspense 
Release Date: June 17, 2019 
Hosted by: Buoni Amici Press, LLC. 
Rating:  5 Stars
Told in the first person.  Alternating persons. 
#bookworm #bookaddicts #ebooks #kindle #bookaholic  #iloveromancebooks #greatreads #bookish #indieauthor #bookclub #epicreads #inlovewithbooks #BAPpr

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received this book for review from Buoni Amici Press and the author.  I was not compensated nor was I required to write a positive review.  The opinions I have expressed are my own.  I am posting this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255:  "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising".

As a forty-one-year-old mother of three boys, working two jobs, Marya Berger doesn’t have the time or energy to consider a relationship. Especially after a lifetime of poor choices in the romance department. But when the disappearance of a young boy strikes a little too close to home, and a younger man she’s tried to ignore offers his help, she doesn’t stand in the way.
Single father, Dylan Barnes, the junior member of the La Plata County FBI team at thirty-three, has his focus firmly on his job and his son, Max. He’s certainly not looking to complicate his life, when he finds himself at his son’s soccer game, sitting beside the spirited brunette he can’t get out of his mind. Fate, however, appears to have different plans.
When an unspeakable crime draws the attention of the FBI, Dylan finds himself torn between his job and his instinctive need to protect Marya and her boys.

Available in Kindle Unlimited

My Thoughts:

Marya Berger shows the tough job a single mom has when dealing with three boys. She is also good at juggling her life so that she has time for them. Dylan Barnes is a gentleman when it comes to how he treats a woman. It’s also easy to see how caring he is.

I loved this story from beginning to end – especially since I read it all in one day. I can’t tell you the exact point when I became hooked. Our author created a story where we have an older woman and a younger man. There’s not a big age difference and she really doesn’t make a big deal out of it. There are a few scenes where Marya puts up a little fight but Dylan shows that it doesn’t bother him. I also liked that this story shows that an “older” woman can enjoy a relationship and all that it entails – kids and all.

Besides the romance side of their relationship, our author gets us involved in Dylan’s job. Maybe that’s what had me glued to my chair. After all, I’m terrible at mysteries but I’m one that sticks things out until the puzzle gets solved. Both sides of this couple have kids and you see that for the most part they all have a voice. They don’t overtake the story but they’re not left behind either – great way to show their family life. It also shows how much life has changed since I was a kid.

Most of this story didn’t have anything to laugh about but there are a couple scenes where you won’t have a choice. That’s just one thing that gives you a sense of family and inclusion – you feel a part of what’s going on. As our author leads us to the end, nothing feels rushed and it all makes sense. If I had to give you one minus point it would have to be a woman from Dylan’s past. I know she gives us some insight into his life before he meets up with Marya but she seemed to be there more to cause trouble than anything else – just glad we don’t see her much. The ending was great. It was happy and I felt as if their happily ever after hasn’t been written yet.

I’m hoping that means that the author has at least one more book to this series. What’s been great about this series is that you don’t have to read the books before in order to enjoy the one you’re reading. If you start here – great choice. It may get you hooked and at the very least want to go and read the story that started it all, Keeping 6.

Freya Barker inspires with her stories about 'real’ people, perhaps less than perfect, each struggling to find their own slice of happy. 
She is the author of the Cedar Tree and Portland, ME Series, the Northern Lights Collection and the Rock Point Series. She is also co-author of the SnapShot Series.
To see Freya's complete backlist, or to find out what is coming down the pipe, visit  

All Available in Kindle Unlimited:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please leave your comments below.