Total Pageviews

Saturday, April 2, 2016

DRC Promotions Presents: Punishing Me by Cat Mason; #BlogTour

Punishing Me 
Shaft On Tour, Book 6
By Cat Mason 
Release Date: April 2, 2016

Rating:  4 Stars
Told in the first person.

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received this book for review from DRC Promotions and the author.  I was not compensated nor was I required to write a positive review.  The opinions I have expressed are my own.  I am posting this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255:  "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising".

Book Blurb:

Being the new bassist for Shaft is a dream come true for Ireland Tyler. Sold out stadiums and screaming fans are just bonuses to being able to play music she loves. The only downside is it brings her face to face with a blast from her past and her only regret: Dominick Bradford.

The second in command of security for the band may go by Mack now, but all Ireland sees is the boy who used her and left her broken hearted when they were just seventeen years old. Could this be her chance at revenge after all these years, or will it cause old feelings to rise to the surface and cost more than she is prepared to give?

Mack has been the number two and the butt of most jokes for as long as he can remember. When he is suddenly thrust into the top dog position he is determined to prove he has what it takes to run the security team during the last leg of the tour.

The only thing he didn’t count on was Ireland Tyler.

The wild and crazy bassist is far from the sweet and naïve girl he met all those years ago and it has him wondering how well he really knew her at all. Will Mack be able to resist her and do his job, or will he be consumed by the flames and be the one left wanting more this time?

Buy The Book:

My Thoughts:

Ireland Tyler shows how the past can sculpt our future.  Her past is a sad tale but can she turn it around?  Dominick “Mack” Bradford is a man who is part of that past.  Will he have a chance to right that wrong?  Finding out the answer to these questions is a great incentive to keep reading.  She also has anger issues that we will need to see if as the story develops will she start to calm down.

For me the scene-stealer of this last story of the series is a little girl named Jazzie.  She had a way of lightening the mood of the book every time she appeared.  The author knew which one of her characters was going to get the reader to laugh and her name is Jazzie.

This may be the last book but if it’s the first book you read you won’t feel lost.  But it’s like reading the end of the story first so you may want to go back and read the other five books first.  This way you will know about the other band members of Shaft.  And you may understand more of how they fit into this story. 

If you like to have reading marathons, why not try out the six books of Shafts on Tour.  Having music playing in the background will just add to the reading experience.  The author has a great way of creating this group because you can believe that this group actually exists.  Everything just seems so real.  What’s great about this part of the series is that it’s not all hearts ‘n flowers.  Relationships don’t always start that way at the beginning.  Our author also shows how far a man will go to keep a child happy.  And we can see that people are able to change but you just need the right incentive. 

It’s not a book that you will want to speed read because you may miss something.  You also want to make sure to read until the very end because the author includes a note just for you.  Ms. Mason also includes a playlist so if you read Ireland’s story first now you can go back and listen to the music and enjoy the story all over again.

Buy Punishing Me:

Other Books In The Series:

About The Author:


Cat Mason is a thirty year old, married mother of three. When she isn't writing; she is spending time with her kiddos or reading. She was born and raised outside of St. Louis, Missouri, just over the Mississippi River in Granite City, Illinois. Cat writes romance of all kinds with twists of humor.

Connect With Cat:

Hosted by:

1 comment:

Please leave your comments below.