Total Pageviews

Saturday, November 14, 2015

Loving the Book Presents: Maverick by Irish Winters; #BookTour, #Giveaway, & #Review

Rating:  4 1/2 Stars

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received this book for review from Loving the Book and the author.  I was not compensated nor was I required to write a positive review.  The opinions I have expressed are my own.  I am posting this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255:  "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising".

Irish Winters is an award-winning author who dabbles in poetry, grandchildren, and rarely (as in extremely rarely) the kitchen. More prone to be outdoors than in, she grew up the quintessential tomboy on a farm in rural Wisconsin, spent her teenage years in the Pacific Northwest, but calls the Wasatch Mountains of Northern Utah home. For now.

The wife of one handsome husband and mother of three perfect sons, Irish divides her time between writing at home, and travelling the country with her man while – writing. (Seriously, what else?)

She believes in making every day count for something, and follows the wise admonition of her mother to, “Look out the window and see something!”

To learn more about Irish and her books, please visit

He’s heartsick and battle-weary.
Maverick Carson returned home from war with too much pain and not enough honor. Searching for a way to forgive and forget, he quits The TEAM and starts to walk. He's walked all the way to Wyoming when the sight of a pretty girl riding a massive draft horse steals his breath—until the hillside gives way beneath the horse. Rushing to her aid, he runs straight into the world of China Wolf, the headstrong owner of the Wild Wolf Ranch and the owner of the finest Percherons in the country.
She doesn’t need a man in her life.

Never has. Never will. China Wolf has responsibility enough between the rowdy horses she loves, the wayward sister she tolerates, and the precocious niece she adores. Besides, Maverick’s made it clear he’d rather hit the road than hang around her ranch. Why should she care? She doesn’t—not until she glimpses the cowboy in his eyes. Maybe she needs a man after all.
Just. This. One.
Purchase this book here: 

Maverick Carson is a man on a mission but he’s trying to figure out just what that is.  But then he meets China Wolf.  Early on she gives a hint as to what his purpose may be.  And here’s where I give you an early reading warning – you’re going to find yourself laughing even before chapter one is finished.

It didn’t take me long to realize that our author has created the perfect character to push Maverick back into the human race.  We have several scene-stealers in this book – both animal and human.  China’s niece will pull at your heartstrings.  To show how creative this author is, a royal pain is part of China’s family tree – you won’t know who to feel more sorry for.    And because of recent events, involving children, you can picture a woman like Leezel actual existing.  You will also get an indication of the amount of research that must have been involved in creating this story.

Even with all the ups and downs of this story, out of all the books in this series that I’ve read so far, I’d have to say that this is my most favorite.  There’s a lot of emotion with this one and there’s no way that a reader won’t get involved with what’s going on.  For me, this was just a small indication of what someone from the military must be going through upon their return.  You’ll find that this story will “force” you to sit back, slow down, relax, and just enjoy the story as it unfolds. 

The author includes good versus evil, suspense, and even the T.E.A.M makes an appearance.  You don’t need to follow the series in order to enjoy this latest book but if you want to know more about the people that make up the T.E.A.M you may want to go back and check out the first eight books.  But even though this is Maverick’s story, Kyrie is the character that will steal your heart.  It left me looking forward to the next book in the series titled Cassidy coming out next year.

Ten Facts About the In The Company Of Snipers Series

1.              As of today, July 24, 2015, there are 15 books in the series, In the Company of Snipers: Alex, Mark, Zack, Harley, Connor, Rory, Taylor, Gabe, Maverick, Cassidy, Adam, Lee, Hunter, Jake, and Eric.

2.              The series begins with a returned war hero, USMC Staff Sergeant Alex Stewart, and his need to continue to serve his country. He starts a covert surveillance company, simply called The TEAM, in Alexandria, Virginia, close to the federal agencies he hopes will need his particular services.

3.              Alex hires ex-military snipers returning home from the war because he understands how difficult civilian life is for men like him. Already trained covert operators, his men and women make the perfect undercover agents when the State Department needs a specific enemy or ally overseas watched. Or when the FBI needs an assist extracting an agent who was never supposed to be inside enemy territory in the first place. Or when a child has been abducted out of the country by a non-custodial parent.

4.              Alex Stewart never intended to build a family, but in the process of hiring patriotic men and women of integrity and honor; warriors who’ve stood fast in the face of brutality and war, who understand the need to defend the innocent and weak—he has.

5.              Alex lives by a code of honor. He does not hire men or women who enjoy killing. His business is not a company of mercenaries for hire.

6.              I write about ex-military snipers because I want a real hero who has proven he or she isn’t afraid to take on the world.

7.              I write about strong women because my heroes deserved an equal who isn’t afraid to stand toe to toe these alpha males, love the daylights out of them, but also remind them of who they really are.

8.              I never intended to write a series, but these guys kept showing up in my dreams, needing their stories told. What else could I do?

9.              I had one signed contract with a traditional publisher and two other offers from traditional publishers on my desk when I decided to go indie. After I published my 3rd book, Zack, I received another offer for the series from another publisher. Unfortunately, they couldn’t offer anything substantial that I didn’t already have. Guess I’ll stay self-pubbed, pick my own cover art, set my own schedules, and work with people I choose.  J

10.           The series is completely fiction.

To see the full blog schedule and follow along with this tour visit our

Official Event Page:


  1. Hi Lynn Reynolds - Thank you for this choice review!

    1. Thank you for stopping by and I can't wait to see what you have in store for Cassidy. I hope you enjoy your holidays.


Please leave your comments below.